British Franchise Association election results 2011

British Franchise AssociationThe five franchisors elected to the BFA board at its annual meeting at the Hyatt Regency, Birmingham, in December were Sean Derrig (Chemex International), Dan Archer (Home Instead Senior Care), Pam Bader (Molly Maid), Clive Houlston (Mr. Electric) and Steve Calvert (Safeclean).

They have joined six franchisors who continue their term: Mike Goddard (Belvoir Lettings), Michael Eyre (Blazes), Kelly Chambers (Dream Doors, pictured), Alistair Wiggins (Pirtek), Mark Llewellyn (Revive! Auto Innovations), and Berkeley Harris (Western Provident Association).

Others on the board are: representing the associates, Jat Mann (PC Pal); and representing the affiliates, Derrick Simpson (Franchise Resales), Brian Duckett (the Franchising Centre), and Jane Masih (Owen White, the legal member).

Kelly ChambersAlso on the board are Brian Smart (director-general) and as co-opted members, two franchisees Ken Bevis (Signs Express) and Justin Brookes (Mail Boxes Etc.).

A third co-opted franchisee is expected to be announced shortly, which will bring the board total to 19. In future, the three franchisees will be voted onto the board when franchisees have a sufficient number within the BFA membership.

The five forum chairmen elected were: affiliates forum, Shirley Hughes (Franchise Careers Centre); London forum, Duncan Berry (Choice Hotels Europe); Midlands forum, Jonathan Mills (Premier Sport); Northern forum, Simon Bartholomew (Oscar Pet Foods); and South-West forum, Phil Gaffer (BCR Associates).

At the first board meeting following the annual meeting, Kelly Chambers was elected deputy chairman.