British Franchise Association board appointments

Trevor Brocklebank, the association’s new chair.

Trevor Brocklebank, co-founder and chief executive of Home Instead Senior Care, has been elected the new BFA chairman at the association’s annual meeting in Birmingham.

On being elected Brocklebank said: “It is an immense privilege to become chair of the BFA, which was hugely beneficial to our company when we first started franchising.

“The organisation has a key role to perform in supporting ethical franchising across the UK. When franchising is done well, it is a superb business model and I am looking forward to being able to support its success and expansion across the UK over the coming years.”

The outgoing chairman, Simon Bartholomew of Oscar Pet Foods, who had reached the end of his three-year term, said: “It has been a great honour to chair the BFA for the last three years. Over this time, there have been many changes to the organisation and I believe I hand over a strong association with a dynamic leadership.

“I am delighted that Trevor has been elected as chair. The strength he will bring to the role will help the leadership team build on their objectives and see our association grow further to remain at the top of the franchise industry both here in the UK and on the international stage.”

The BFA also announced that Brian Smart, previously director-general of the association, has been appointed as director Europe, International; and Mike Goddard, founder of Belvoir, appointed a BFA Companion.

Commenting on the BFA’s latest Companion, Bartholomew said: “Mike’s support and commitment to UK franchising and the association has been unwavering. He has shown a huge dedication and passion, not just to his own business, but to franchising as a whole.”

Pip Wilkins (third from left) with board members and regional forum chairmen, at the association’s annual meeting.

Newly elected members
Six new board members were elected at the annual meeting. Three were franchisor members and three affiliate members.

The newly elected franchisors are Duncan Berry (Bluebird Care), Tony Bowman (eTyres) and John Spencer (NIC Services Group). The new affiliate members are Roz Goldstein (Goldstein Legal), Shirley Hughes (Franchise Careers Centre) and Carl Reader (d&t).

The existing franchisor board members continuing this year are Simon Bartholomew, Steve Bramley (Rainbow International), Trevor Brocklebank, Craig Brown (Signs Express), Ken Deary (Right at Home), Sean Derrig (Chemex International), Michael Eyre (Blazes Renewables), Louise Harris (Wilkins Chimney Sweep), Phil Gaffer (Premier Sport) and Rob  Oyston (Sports Xtra).

The board of directors comprises 13 franchisor members, three affiliates (professional advisers), and three franchisees along with its chief executive, Pip Wilkins.

The three franchisee members were unchanged – Catharine Chalton (Home Instead Senior Care), Mike Hurley (Dream Doors) and Dave Padmore (McDonald’s).

Four new regional forum chairmen were elected – London, Nick Lyons (No Letting Go); Northern, Michelle Fenwick (Heritage Healthcare); South West, Sean Goldsmith (Shuttercraft) and affiliate representative Vicki Mitman (Birketts LLP). There were two re-elected forum chairmen – Midlands, Dave Price (Marston’s) and Scotland, Suzie McCafferty (Platinum Wave).

Bartholomew in his closing remarks highlighted the double-digit growth of franchisor membership, and the positive impact Pip Wilkins has made since her appointment as the chief executive of the association.